Nominations are now open.?
Deadline for submission: 30 April 2021

The Prize rewards outstanding actions to safeguard and enhance the world’s outstanding cultural landscapes which contribute directly and significantly to the goals set out in the United Nations’ 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development.

The Prize winner, who may be an individual, an institution or a non-governmental organization, receives an award of 30,000 USD.

The Prize was created in 1995 by Greece and named after the actress Melina Mercouri, a strong advocate of integrated conservation and former Minister of Culture.

Renewed at the 202nd?session of the Executive Board of UNESCO in October 2017, the UNESCO-Greece Melina Mercouri International Prize is awarded every two years.

The nomination process takes place online through the UNESCO website. Online nominations in English or French should be sent to UNESCO by 30 April 2021 at the latest (midnight Paris time, UTC+1).

English French

Further information on the Prize can be found at?
Questions can be directed to the Secretariat of the Prize

Download Leaflet

English French